fbpx

eya at ten season

We believe that women’s voices possess a unique power.

Eya: Ensemble for Medieval Music is celebrating our tenth anniversary, and we are committing to using our united voice to awaken, heal, and transform the sacred voice of women.

This pivotal time has invited a major realignment of our values and created a catalyst to fulfill our greater purpose through music, storytelling, and leadership.

Our tenth anniversary season is not only entirely virtual, it is our most ambitious season of programming to date. It is celebratory and B O L D, and we have designed our season to invite YOU into our community.

We will be hosting weekly events with many opportunities for you to join us, both in conversation and in song, as we live into our mission to awaken, heal, and transform the sacred voice of women.

Let us celebrate the power of our collective voice, and realize this healing together.

upcoming event

Mon 26

Community Workshop: Sing with Eya

October 26 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

FALL 2020

Beguiled

“The serpent beguiled me, and I ate.”
Genesis 3:13

This fall, Eya launches our tenth anniversary season and ignites our new vision with a focus on the music and mythology of Hildegard von Bingen. We engage with medieval viewpoints from a modern-day perspective. Specifically, we confront the ancient thought and perception surrounding the sin of Eve in the Garden of Eden and the subsequent redemption of women in the Virgin Mary, as treated by medieval mystic Hildegard von Bingen. Our centerpiece performance (Nov 20) will feature the voices of Eya, alongside the spoken texts of modern young women, and a newly commissioned community-sung work by Chanda Rule, interwoven with the ecstatic songs of Hildegard von Bingen. 

events

Tuesday, September 22, 2020 / 1pm EST
Spotlight Sing: O virtus Sapientie

Tuesday, September 29, 2020 / 1pm EST
Guest Conversation: Dr. Barbara Newman

Tuesday, October 6, 2020 / 1pm EST
Webinar: The Music of Hildegard von Bingen

Monday, October 12, 2020 / 7:30pm EST
(six Mondays through November 16)
Community Workshop: Sing with Eya
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 / 1pm EST
Spotlight Video: Beguiled

Tuesday, October 20, 2020 / 1pm EST
Guest Conversation: Chanda Rule

Tuesday, October 27, 2020 / 1pm EST
Community Sing: Chanda Rule

Tuesday, November 3, 2020 / 1pm EST
Spotlight Video: Beguiled

Tuesday, November 17, 2020 / 1pm EST
Live Q&A: The Women of Eya

Friday, November 20, 2020 / 7:30pm EST
Performance: Beguiled

SPRING 2021

The Unicorn

my only desire

Inspired by the mysterious medieval tapestries known as “The Lady and the Unicorn,” this program amplifies the voices of visionary women who seekand findsacred union unto themselves. The program features the voices of medieval and contemporary women mystics, including the music of women trouvères, Hildegard von Bingen, French motets, and a special new commission by Baltimore-based composer (and friend of Eya) Douglas Buchanan.

events

Tuesday, February 16, 2021 / 1pm EST
Spotlight Sing: Medieval Music of Women

Tuesday, February 23, 2021 / 1pm EST
Guest Conversation

Tuesday, March 2, 2021 / 1pm EST
Webinar: Medieval Music of Women

Tuesday, March 9, 2021 / 1pm EST
Spotlight Video: The Unicorn

Tuesday, March 23, 2021 / 1pm EST
Spotlight Sing: Music of a Mystic

Tuesday, March 30, 2021 / 1pm EST
Spotlight Video: À mon seul désir

Tuesday, April 6, 2021 / 1pm EST
Roundtable Discussion: Voices of Women Mystics

Tuesday, April 13, 2021 / 1pm EST
Live Q&A: Women of Eya

Friday, April 16, 2021 / 7:30pm EST
Performance: The Unicorn

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This